NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Tacoma

Consumer Reviews

2019 Toyota Tacoma

#6 Most Popular Truck
$25,850 - $42,960  MSRP Range
2019 Toyota Tacoma

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

181 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Toyota Tacoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 181 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

High Quality Design and Build

by Roamin' Taco from Marietta, GA on Thu Dec 13 2018

This is my second Toyota pickup. I currently own a 2011 4Runner as well. I don't automatically buy a Toyota but I always consider them. I buy a primary vehicle about every seven or eight years. In that time the technology really changes. This truck has a better driver feel than my 4Runner and way better than my 01 Tundra. All of these are 4x4s. The engine puts out adequate road power. The transmission and transfer case are smooth and reliable. Even though I bought the JBL Sound System I would only rate that as functional. It seriously lags behind the Dodge and Chevrolet for functions and ease of use. The sound is just OK. I love the QI Wireless Charger for my phone. This is the first vehicle I've owned since the mid 1990's that doesn't have some sort of wire coming out of the dash. Just a very pleasant touch and much appreciated. The instrumentation and controls are well laid out. The instrument cluster is clean and easy to understand. The leather upholstery has a very nice, not too slick feel. This truck has a composite bed instead of steel or aluminum. I actually prefer this. Gas mileage is not the best but not the worst either. I haven't taken it on a long trip but around town I get about 15. Not bad for the stop and go ride around the suburbs. I haven't taken it off road yet but from my experiences in the past I'm guessing it will behave well. It certainly has nice ground clearance. The tires are of the "LT" variety, without a lot of chunky tread but considering how often I drive off road they are a sensible choice.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great comfort

by Taco from Clayton, Nc on Fri Nov 30 2018

The way it handles and the look and the off road durability roomy and it has great pick up Led lights are great and great gas mileage

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun and reliable truck

by Wo0oly from Chicago on Fri Dec 28 2018

I have owned this truck for about a month now and I love it. It’s easy to get around and park with plus the gas mileage is phenomenal. Currently, I’m averaging about 19 miles to a gallon. The ride is a little stiff but this was expected from a small sized truck. Overall, I highly recommend this truck to anyone that’s on the fence in regards to a full truck or a small truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Toyota Tacoma

by Chris from Boise, ID on Tue Nov 27 2018

I ahve this truck for three weeks and it is a great vehicle. The truck has decent gas mileage and is fun to drive. It is very smooth with the TRD suspension. I look forward to taking this truck into the mountains and really seeing what it can do.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Great truck, AWFUL Automatic Transmission

by James from Chicago,IL on Sun Jul 28 2019

Do yourself a favor and take a look at the forums about these automatic transmissions on the Tacoma. It is an awful driving experience constantly hunting for gears and shifting all over the place. The truck is great otherwise but i traded mine in because the automatic is unbearable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sharp Truck

by vmoore from Gardendale, Alabama on Thu Sep 19 2019

Love the TRD Sport, but I do not like the hesitation of the transmission. I seems like it get confused of what gear to shift into. Which makes me think something is wrong with the transmission. Toyota, go have to do better!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Tacoma

by Randy from Novelty on Thu Nov 22 2018

Perfect combination of comfort style and usability as a truck. I am able to complete and use the truck, as a truck, for the jobs I need to do. It also gets great mileage for commuting to work. At the same time, provides ample interior space transport my family. It certainly has the reliability I’ve come to except in a Toyota.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the price

by Michael from Ashtabula, Ohio on Mon Dec 03 2018

Perfect small truck at a very affordable price. Untouchable lease pricing! Not perfect in some small ways but again for "me" it was what I was receiving for the money invested. Very satisfied so far (brand new). Lots of technology in new vehicles wondering how long lasting it is.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Some electrical issues

by Sam@lope from Westminster, CO on Sat Mar 30 2019

All was great except the breakage of the radio electric system. It also took 3 weeks to get an Appt to have the electrical issue worked on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

To early really to tell we just drove it home

by Terry and Tammy from Edna Tx on Sun Jan 13 2019

We just got our truck last night at 10:00. He wanted the long bed and I wanted the full back doors so we got what we both wanted

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19