2017 Prius

Consumer Reviews

2017 Toyota Prius

$13,788 - $25,324  MSRP Range
2017 Toyota Prius

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

134 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Toyota Prius?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Previous Toyota Owner

by New To Prius from Lowell MA on Wed Jul 12 2017

Have owned 3 previous Toyota cars but not a Prius. Satisfied with all previous cars. Prius Three - Driven highway and back and urban roads. Very satisfied with safety ratings and systems of car. Roomy, solid ride and quiet, car responsive, mileage great on ECO mode. Systems very informative and flexible. Standard equipment more than adequate. Will need to read owners manual over 400 pages but easy read.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

,best mileage ever

by medicine hawk from Washington pa on Tue Jun 06 2017

Rides and handles great. Plenty of power,cruses at 70 mph at 50 mpg. Blind spot monitor, active cruses control, and lane departure makes this car a dream to drive. Outside looks great, inside very comfortable also looks great.turns heads, Beats a Lincoln that I previously had years ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable, Trouble-Free Car I have every owned

by Senior Executive Zeke W from San Diego, CA on Sat Jun 27 2020

This car met all my needs but now I am ready to move up to a Lexus LS 460L. This Prius is in EXCELLANT Condition....ONE OWNER, NO ACCIDENTS, Plus Seviced By the Dealer I purchsed it from and all Service Records are available. Save a couple Thousand Dollars by buying it Direct from the owner.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe and Eco-friendly

by Lisa C from Indian Trail, NC on Mon Jul 01 2019

The Prius is wonderfully quiet and energy efficient. The hands-free features are great. I love being able to pair devices via Bluetooth and use my Ipod via the USB. The one complaint I have is that no matter how I adjust the driver seat, the head restraint forces my head forward and gives me backaches. I had the same problem with my 2009 Rav4 and wound up turning the head restraint in both cars around. Not the best solution as the way the head restraint is meant to be used is to prevent whiplash in the event of a collision. I still think it will be of some use if I am in an accident. Thankfully, most of the driving controls are in the same place as in my Rav4. There are two manuals for this car because there is so much to learn about it. Toyota USA also has some helpful videos on youtube.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius continue to impress

by Dml996 from Sc on Sun Oct 28 2018

This is my 2nd prius, my other is a 2012 and I cannot say enough good things about these cars. Super reliable and great efficiency with very low maintenance costs. My 2012 has 147k miles with zero issues and this 4th gen feels vastly better all around. I’m avg 61mpg at 17k miles so I’m really impressed with the improvements plus this one has a sunroof. As usual the exterior is polarizing but I didn’t buy it for looks.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Prius 2017 keeps getting better and better

by Destiny from Orlando, FL on Mon May 22 2017

I just purchased it one day ago and drove it out of town the same day. I am impressed wiht the performance on the first day and just love the Prius product in general. Easy use, smooth ride and it picks up speed so much faster than a prius I had from 2012.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Prius I have owned

by SASSY from Delhi, NY on Sun May 07 2017

Much better power than last Prius, more sporty exterior, sunroof is nice, getting over 50 miles to the gallon already, handles excellent feels very SASSY!!! Love my Prius!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Passing Gas Stations

by Kim from on Wed Apr 19 2017

This car is comfortable, sporty and very efficient. I drove 100 miles a day and only have to stop for 10 gallons of gas once a week. Comfortable drivers seat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST RELIABLE I HAVE EVER OWNED

by TOYOTA PRIUS 2017 from MONROE, GEORGIA on Wed May 10 2017

REAL GOOD ON GAS MILEAGE AND VERY GOOD LOW MAINTENANCE. THIA CAR IS COMFORABLE AND EASY TO HANDLE. THE BACK-UP CAMERA IS EXCELLENT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Retired Railroader

by Go Cardinals from Springfield, MO on Mon Apr 03 2017

Great so far. Expect great ride for a long time. Check out salesman Jeremy Nelson at Reliable Toyota, Springfield, Mo. He will treat you right.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14

Our Take on the 2017 Toyota Prius

Editor’s note: This review was written in December 2015 about the 2016 Toyota Prius, but little of substance has changed. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

With improved driving performance and interior design, the new 2016 Toyota Prius could be the first of its breed to attract people who care about more than just getting the highest mileage available — though the new Prius manages to get even better mileage, as well.

I drove several trim levels of the new Prius on roads and a small track to test the vehicle’s dynamics. While there are still some rough spots, it’s an impressive effort.

The Prius competes... Read More