2018 Mirage

Consumer Reviews

2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

$13,395 - $16,595  MSRP Range
2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

34 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Small Car

by Jake from Northwest PA on Mon Apr 23 2018

An excellent small, reliable car that is far better than the 'professional' reviewers claim. I bought my 2018 5 speed for $9,988 plus tax and license-an incredible value for a new car with all the features and warranty this Mitsubishi has. The bulletproof 3 cylinder engine easily handles normal driving without strain ( The redline is 6,500 rpm's and 65mph with two people aboard is only 3,400rpm) The gear ratios are perfectly matched to the engine so most driving is done at less than 3,000 rpms. This translates to easily keeping up with traffic while getting 44 to 49 miles a gallon. The sound system is decent, the cabin is quiet enough to talk in at highway speeds( ...so I disagree with the 'pro' there) and the seats are very comfortable for a 600 plus mile trip. My wife and I did it. Honestly-the only complaints I have/had are that the manual transmission takes a few thousand miles to break in, so it will feel 'notchy' at first and require some practice to shift smoothly. After 5,000 miles it is much smoother. Also, when it is raining/snowing/ cold outside the fan needs to be run to keep the windows from fogging, so constant ventilation in the small interior is necessary. As spring has arrived that problem went away. Both very minor issues. After 5 months of use, I find the car to be fun to drive, smooth enough over bumps, with plenty of interior room. Folks, this is a small car for everyday driving that sips gas and has a great warranty for less than $10,000 on sale. Don't compare it to anything else and don't take the 'expert' reviewers word for it. Test drive it yourself!! Then decide.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

58 out of 58 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than I thought

by Mirage Fan from Pasadena, CA on Mon Jul 02 2018

I really love my 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage ES. It has a 5 speed manual transmission which makes it feel much more peppier than the CVT version. From a stop it's not the quickest but it's not bad. I can keep up fine with other cars and passing on the freeway is no problem when you drop to a lower gear. It's really pretty peppy. The transmission is smooth operating and the handling is very nimble and the turning radius is killer. Interior wise I'm fine with it too. The car has power windows, locks, mirrors and a touch screen audio system which includes back up camera. Space wise, it's great. Friends (6'0 and below) can sit in the back with no problems and rear cargo space is good and even better when the 60/40 seats are folded down. The interior uses a lot of hard plastics but they seem good quality unlike a Fiat which feels kind of cheap. I had one before and I always was afraid something else was going to break. The exterior is very Japanese looking, which is to say the styling in my eyes is very nice. Not overly done or ugly. Just pleasing. Over all I would recommend this car if you get the 5 speed version. Plus it has a great warranty 5 yr bumper to bumper and 10 yr/100000 miles powertrain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best value

by Ryu_ANZ from Palatine, IL on Mon Apr 23 2018

Great cost performance, Great fuel economy , Roomy rear seat, Good acceleration if you choose manual shift. Go for the ES model with manual shift for the best cost vs. value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most comfortable, small

by julia from Brooklyn on Fri Mar 09 2018

I like this car, it is small but very comfortable. this is what i need for me and my family. I always can find a parking place

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great cars!

by Patricia K from Strongsville Oh on Mon Jan 08 2018

It is just the right size for me. Runs great. We purchased the Mirage 2018 and Outlander Sport 2017 for my husband.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car great for the money

by Jeff from Fair Lawn NJ on Sat May 26 2018

So far I love it. Just big enough for what I need. Great on gas, love the teal color i got . Good tech inside the car, touch screen . First time I've had a backup camera. I really like that feature

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent to drive.

by MayraE from Elizabeth, NJ on Tue May 15 2018

This car meet all my needs. Very comfortable, run excellent, good leg rooms, good front view. It has USB port, touch screen with Bluetooth, radio and phone, trunk is extensible, so it is all I need.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best MPG Non-Hybrid available! 42mpg

by Mary C and Cody E from Dallas, TX on Mon Aug 06 2018

This new car is amazing! I love the built-in backup camera that comes with the base model. I love linking my phone to play my commercial free favorite music. I got the one in a dark wine color, and just love how beautiful the paint job is! There are so many buttons and gadgets that after two days I still have not figured out what all of them do. I think the money we are going to save on gas will equal the car payment, making the gas free! The rebate it came with was added to increase the down payment, and with the credit amnesty from Don Herring Mitsubishi in Plano, I got to drive home in a lovely brand new car for the first time ever! No more breaking down, over priced repairs, or bald tires for me. I have a 10 year, or 100,000 mile guarantee! The first three oil changes are free, and no car payment for 45 days! I could not be happier! Ask for Simon, tell him Mary C and Cody E sent you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR...THIS IS A REAL WORLD REVIEW

by Stash from San Antonio on Mon Jul 16 2018

Purchased a brand new 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage GT. My first Mitsubishi. Great current sales offers, as dealers prepare for 2019 arrivals. Thousands off MSRP, both manufacturer and dealer discounts. Following, please find a real and fair review. No hype about "you can spend more" nonsense. No promoting other manufacturers. OVERALL: Great gas mileage. Already averaging 43.2 mpg highway. Interior feels larger than it looks. Gives the impression of sitting in a larger car rather than a sub-compact. Love the style and color. Many "Toys" options. RIDE: In general, the ride is much nicer than described by the elite. In city traffic, on average streets, the ride is smooth and comfortable. On rough roads, xxxxx, etc, the ride is a bit rough. However, on smoother bumps in the road the Mirage suspension offers smooth and well controlled reactions. At highway speeds, the Mirage rides about average, in my opinion, when driving on older pavement. When driving over newer asphalt, the Mirage ride is very smooth, mimicking a larger car ride. If you drive in an area wherein the local roads and highways are older and/or in need of repair, pitted, etc, you may not like the Mirage ride. But, in my experience, pretty much any sub-compact I've driven will perform subpar on poorly maintained road surfaces. On well maintained roads, both city and highway, i find no fault with my Mirage GT. HANDLING: I've been driving for over 40 years, including professionally. I like the handling of this Mirage GT. Unlike one of my previous sub-compacts, the steering on the Mirage feels tight and controlled. Not loose or vague. This instills much more confidence, especially at highway speeds. Turning corners, changing lanes no problem. I can do an inner-city U-turn on even a modestly wide street. Like some other sub-compacts I've owned, this Mirage GT sits a little higher. Beneficial when viewing the road and traffic ahead. Obviously, this taller stance dictates some common sense driving. I don't plan to race around turns. This is not a sports car. EXTERIOR NOISE: Compared to other sub-compacts I've driven, I find the exterior noise levels to be more than acceptable. In city driving, this Mirage GT is nice and quiet. At highway speeds, wind noise is not bad at all. Better than some of the other sub-compacts I've owned. Road noise is totally acceptable in city driving. At higway speeds, road noise can be somewhat prevalant. Similar to other sub-compacts. The road noise is created by the tires and the road surface condition. At highway speeds, driving on older surfaces, road noise is more perceivable. However, when driving over newer asphalt, road noise levels drop tremendously. Again, I feel as though I'm riding in a larger car. Note:. Some tire mnufacturers claim their tires to be quieter, due to tread designs. I don't know how valid are such claims. In my opinion, engine noise is very acceptable. Very mild engine hum when city driving. Only slightly increased engine hum at highway speeds. Unless, of course, I race the engine too much to higher RPMs, which is not how I drive. I live in the real world. With the radio turned on, I really never notice exterior noise. INTERIOR NOISE: I have no idea what the elite reviewers mean by"rattling", etc. Interior is quiet as far as I'm concerned. COMFORT: I really enjoy the comfort level of my Mirage GT. The front seats are large and well padded. I find myself feeling less fatigued when driving a distance, compared to other sub-compacts I've owned. Seat back and head rest also very well padded. The cloth material of the seats is also much nicer. Soft feeling, akin to home furniture. Not rough feeling, gritty or of a vinyl-like or sandpaper texture. Even the adjustable armrest is nicer. Covered in the same soft cloth rather than vinyl. And the armest can be adjusted to several different angles, which adds to it's comfortable use. Adjustable driver seat height also a useful feature. The steering wheel is wrapped. I never thought I'd care for such petty options, but I find I now prefer the wrapped feel over the grip of plain plastic steering. Steering controls make easy use of radio, phone answering. Powered mirrors allow easy set-up. Tilt steering is all I need. I've read so many critiques regarding interior plastics and "cheap" design. I have to laugh. My Mirage GT interior appearance is more than just fine. Looks great. It's plastic! Just like other cars. The gloss black trim on dash and arm-rests is sharp. My Mirage GT feels larger than it looks, from the inside. More width and height. More elbow room. Very comfortable. Definitely larger than some other sub-compacts I've owned. When driving my Mirage GT, I feel as though I'm driving a larger class of car. Depending on road conditions, the ride sometimes enhances the experience. AIR CONDITIONING:. My Mirage GT has Auto Climate digital AC. I really thought this feature to be useless. However, I now find this feature to greatly enhance my commutes. I set the temp at 77 degrees, the fan speed on low and I'm done. No more constantly fiddling with the temp knobs to cool or warm the interior. The AC cycles on and off, maintaining a very stable comfortable inside temp. I am so glad I have the Auto Climate option. POWER: I drive conservatively. I never beat on my vehicles. I do not race away from a dead stop nor do I race up to a stop before braking. If you drive in such fashion, you may want a sportier, more powerful vehicle. When accelerating at modest speeds, the engine revs smoothly. From a dead stop, I find my Mirage GT actually has a little pep. If I tap the accelerator (not floor it), the Mirage will actually begin moving pretty nicely. More so than some other sub-compacts I've owned. Shifting is very smooth. No jarring, hesitation. At highway speeds, I only change lanes when such can be done safely. I don't push the Mirage to its limits. Needless to say, do not expect to floor the gas peddle and fly. Be realistic. Drive safe. ABOUT CVT TRANSMISSIONS: As other sub-compacts I've owned, my Mirage GT utilizes a CVT. A CVT is a belt driven transmission, unlike the old gear type. Because CVTs function differently, they offer improved gas mileage by constantly adjusting to driving speeds and conditions. Shifting is seamless. However, the CVT has limits. One of my previous sub-compacts would noticeably hesitate when punchimg the gas peddle from a dead stop. This was due to CVT belt slippage which was very obvious. My Mirage GT CVT performs excellently. I have no complaints. I have not noticed any slippage at all. NOTE:. When passing at highway speeds...I find I attain better passing and/or lane changing performance if I press down on the accelerator pedal slightly and smoothly. Engine RPM will increase to 3000-3500 for a smooth slight acceleration. Engine hums smoothly. No such "engine strain", "engine screaming" or any other ridiculous descriptions as I've read elsewhere. It's a tiny engine. If I take care of it, it will last a long time. TECHNOLOGY: My Mirage GT has powered windows, locks, mirrors. One-touch UP and DOWN. Cruise. Touch screen radio display. Bluetooth connection. Andoid Auto. (I connect my phone via USB and use GOOGLE MAPS on-screen, for instance. Accurate GPS with real-time updates, rerouting, etc). Back-up camera. SAFETY: High Intensity headlights really illuminate the road ahead. Fog lights. Side marker lights and turn signal lights including lights on sides and mirrors. All the usual airbags. Spare tire and jack. CONCLUSION: This Mirage GT is very nice. A true pleasure to drive. I love the appearance/style. The color choice. Sporty wheels. All the toys. Roomy interior. Decent cargo space for a sub-compact. I like hatchbacks. Performance is better than some other sub-compacts I've owned. Definitely on-par with the better sub-compacts I've driven. Feel great about the warranty. Six year overall. Ten year powertrain. Tires warranted 1-2 years depending on brand. My Mirage equipped with Yokohama tires. Even the light bulbs are warranted for two years, I believe. Bottom line. Do not be afraid to purchase a Mitsubishi Mirage. I'm happy I did not listen to the elite reviewers touting more expensive choices. ONLY TWO MINOR CONS: Most of my previous vehicles featured AUTO-ON/OFF HEADLIGHTS and SPEED SENSITIVE DOOR LOCKS (typicall locking all doors arpund 15 mph). Not a big deal. Just thought I'd mention. Since I recently purchased, I cannot honestly comment on reliability. I gave 5 stars because I feel well protected by the great warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Rmorse1224 from Winthrop,maine on Sat May 26 2018

This car being a hatchback is very large, I have two children who play sports and this vehicle is great. The interior is a dark color and the comfort level is amazing. Easy to use technology etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

The verdict:

The Mirage GT has some surprising features for its price, but once you’re driving, you won’t forget what’s missing.

Versus the competition:

Other cars in this class are quieter and offer more power and features, but the Mirage is more fun to drive and a bit quirkier, which some will like.

The Mitsubishi Mirage is not the lowest-priced new car you can buy in 2018. That title — and accompanying ignominy or praise (I'm not sure which one yet) — goes to the 2018 Nissan Versa, which starts at $12,995. That undercuts the Mirage's starting price of $14,290 by more than $1,000 (all prices include destination charges). But that's not to suggest the Mirage feels like anything more than a minimalist car.

In the price range inhabited by cars like the Mirage, Versa, Chevrolet Spark and Kia Rio (compare those here), what you don't get is just as important as what you do. My week with the 2018 Mirage produced some surprising positives to go along with a few nagging... Read More