NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 Mirage

Consumer Reviews

2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

$8,984 - $20,955  MSRP Range
2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

58 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Better than I thought

by Mirage Fan from Pasadena, CA on Mon Jul 02 2018

I really love my 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage ES. It has a 5 speed manual transmission which makes it feel much more peppier than the CVT version. From a stop it's not the quickest but it's not bad. I can keep up fine with other cars and passing on the freeway is no problem when you drop to a lower gear. It's really pretty peppy. The transmission is smooth operating and the handling is very nimble and the turning radius is killer. Interior wise I'm fine with it too. The car has power windows, locks, mirrors and a touch screen audio system which includes back up camera. Space wise, it's great. Friends (6'0 and below) can sit in the back with no problems and rear cargo space is good and even better when the 60/40 seats are folded down. The interior uses a lot of hard plastics but they seem good quality unlike a Fiat which feels kind of cheap. I had one before and I always was afraid something else was going to break. The exterior is very Japanese looking, which is to say the styling in my eyes is very nice. Not overly done or ugly. Just pleasing. Over all I would recommend this car if you get the 5 speed version. Plus it has a great warranty 5 yr bumper to bumper and 10 yr/100000 miles powertrain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

61 out of 61 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car great for the money

by Jeff from Fair Lawn NJ on Sat May 26 2018

So far I love it. Just big enough for what I need. Great on gas, love the teal color i got . Good tech inside the car, touch screen . First time I've had a backup camera. I really like that feature

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best MPG Non-Hybrid available! 42mpg

by Mary C and Cody E from Dallas, TX on Mon Aug 06 2018

This new car is amazing! I love the built-in backup camera that comes with the base model. I love linking my phone to play my commercial free favorite music. I got the one in a dark wine color, and just love how beautiful the paint job is! There are so many buttons and gadgets that after two days I still have not figured out what all of them do. I think the money we are going to save on gas will equal the car payment, making the gas free! The rebate it came with was added to increase the down payment, and with the credit amnesty from Don Herring Mitsubishi in Plano, I got to drive home in a lovely brand new car for the first time ever! No more breaking down, over priced repairs, or bald tires for me. I have a 10 year, or 100,000 mile guarantee! The first three oil changes are free, and no car payment for 45 days! I could not be happier! Ask for Simon, tell him Mary C and Cody E sent you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All the perks without the additional cost...

by browneyedgirl2971 from Deltona, FL on Sun Oct 21 2018

All the perks that cost extra on other cars are included in the Mitsubishi Mirage. It is a subcompact car so not suitable for a large family but perfect for a single person or small family. Love the styling and the fact that this car can accelerate much faster than other small cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best small car I have owned

by Mitsufan from Whitsett, NC on Sat Dec 01 2018

I am sick and tired of these so called experts having negative things to say about the Mirage. I own a 2018 Mirage and it gets 50 mpg. It has enough power for me. It is very dependable and cheap with a great warranty. I wish that these so called experts get a grip on reality and dont deride a perfectly great car. Suggest trying another line of work. Just remember your not driving a car worth $50k. So adjust your opinions accordingly as you have your head up somewhere. Useless reviews.....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

50 MPG average (not on a hill)

by Rick -Road Warrior from Rockford on Mon Aug 20 2018

I drive 150 plus to/from work, so MPG is important. This Mirage is rated at 43 MPG highway, but based on my limited time (so far) it looks like it will easily exceed that. Very happy with my choice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my lil car

by Billy's girl from Trinity FL on Thu Aug 23 2018

This is the cutest, best most economical car on the road. This is the first brand new car I have ever owned, I promised I would never buy a brand new car because of the loss of imminent value. This car was at such a great value and so cute i couldn't leave the lot without it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Rmorse1224 from Winthrop,maine on Sat May 26 2018

This car being a hatchback is very large, I have two children who play sports and this vehicle is great. The interior is a dark color and the comfort level is amazing. Easy to use technology etc.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!

by R & T from Calhoun, GA on Fri Jul 20 2018

Great car for the money! Economical, sporty looking, fun to drive. We would gladly recommend this car to our friends & family. Thank you Mitsubishi for making a car perfect for us

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and High MPG

by DB from Mojave, CA on Mon Nov 05 2018

Well made, comfortable for long distance driving, very economical on gas, great value for the price, easy to maintain, simple to drive, nice stereo, and includes a real spare tire.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2018 Mitsubishi Mirage

The verdict:

The Mirage GT has some surprising features for its price, but once you’re driving, you won’t forget what’s missing.

Versus the competition:

Other cars in this class are quieter and offer more power and features, but the Mirage is more fun to drive and a bit quirkier, which some will like.

The Mitsubishi Mirage is not the lowest-priced new car you can buy in 2018. That title — and accompanying ignominy or praise (I'm not sure which one yet) — goes to the 2018 Nissan Versa, which starts at $12,995. That undercuts the Mirage's starting price of $14,290 by more than $1,000 (all prices include destination charges). But that's not to suggest the Mirage feels like anything more than a minimalist car.

In the price range inhabited by cars like the Mirage, Versa, Chevrolet Spark and Kia Rio (compare those here), what you don't get is just as important as what you do. My week with the 2018 Mirage produced some surprising positives to go along with a few nagging... Read More