NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 Sportage

Consumer Reviews

2018 Kia Sportage

$10,324 - $23,772  MSRP Range
2018 Kia Sportage

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

345 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Kia Sportage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 345 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I'm in love!

by Mary33 from Riverside, NJ on Tue Oct 31 2017

Kia was on my short list when I decided to shop for a new car and it only took a test drive to know what I wanted. The car drives great, has plenty of power, and great extras to make the ride safer and more enjoyable. I know we just met but I'm already in love with my Sportage! Test drive one, you won't be sorry!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

49 out of 49 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Kia

by Mary from Lawton, MI on Sun Feb 25 2018

This is my third Kia. I love these cars. I just traded in my 2006 Kia Sportage with 211,000+ miles for a 2018 Kia Sportage LX and I could not be happier. Of course this car has all the new technology and wow! I am averaging about 24 miles/gallon! It is very comfortable and the heated seats are a must for cold Michigan mornings. The auto seat controls allow my husband to adjust for his comfort (if I let him drive) and because the back seats recline slightly, the kids can fall asleep in their booster seats without getting the floppy forward head they would in regular seat. I'm hoping this is my last new car I buy, but if not, the next one will be another Kia Sportage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car you'll ever own, saved my son's life!

by Banker966 from Kernersville NC on Mon Nov 27 2017

My 2005 Sportage was put to the test 3 weeks ago in a horrible crash. Everything they say about the 5 star crash test rating is TRUE. This car had it's front end crushed, airbags deployed, the car did a 360 but never flipped, windshield and windows remained intact even though the passenger doors were compromised...my son got out with nothing but a very slight airbag 'burn' if you can even call it that, and a bruised ego. Thank you KIA!! Best car you'll ever own!! I have seriously never had a problem with this car. . . (Just bought the 2018 if that tells you anything) ;)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy buyer

by Shortage fan from Clarksville IN on Wed Oct 25 2017

It was all I expected. It is roomy and a good purchase for someone that needs ease in getting and out of a car due to physical challenges. I have driven 4 adults in it with plenty of room. Love the back up camera and the hands free phone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Matt from Erie, PA on Sat Mar 10 2018

This SUV has all-wheel drive, which helps here in Pennsylvania. Even the basic model has a great interior with stain resistant upholstery. There are USB ports and a back up camera. There is a touch screen in addition to push buttons for the console. It is very roomy with seating for 5 and a spacious cargo area. It drives smooth over the potholes and glides around corners. We take a lot of trips 2 hours away with the ride being comfortable the entire time. The exterior has a sleek design for an SUV. We are extremely happy with our Sportage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Went from GMC Yukon to Kia sportage

by Anita Kia driver from Cape Coral Florida on Tue Mar 06 2018

Very surprised with the performance and comfort of my Kia Sportage. Didn’t think I would be happy with a Kia after owning a fully loaded GMC Yukon. I love my Kia. I’m very happy to have it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All the bells and whistles yet practical and affor

by Happycamper from Branford ct on Sun Mar 04 2018

I chose my 2018 Kia Sportage first because of it’s ratings and terrific warranty . After owning preowned cars for most of my life, I was tired of surprise repair bills. Second to those issues was cost (25,000). Comfort for my back and for my ride after that. It has an AWESOME moon roof, heated leather seats and steering wheel.....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great mileage!

by Sportage! Lita from Bastrop,Texas on Sun Jun 24 2018

The 2018 Sportage had bells and whistles that this grandmother could handle! Drives smoothly, especially like the 3 different settings for ?get up and go? for different types of traffic! Plenty of leg room and space for the grands and space for cargo! Easy handling, especially tight turns!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the 2018 Kia Sportage

by Cyntax007 from Miami, Florida on Sun Jun 17 2018

2 weeks ago, I upgrade from 2015 Kia Sportage LX to a 2018 Kia Sportage EX. I want having any trouble with my 2015 at all, but was just curious at what improvements had come down the pike. I took a look online, and wanted to go for a test drive. So I motored on over to Sunshine Kia, met up with my trusty car dealer, Leon Cannon, and he for me behind the wheel. 60 seconds I knew I was going to buy. What an upgrade. Leather, bigger engine, sturdier suspension, greatly improved entertainment system, and a new information system I'm still learning. Between True Car & manufacturer discounts, I got a great deal. You should too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

5 star car with some caveots

by kinglerch from cleveland, ohio on Wed Jan 17 2018

PROS: Truly a good looking and unique looking SUV in a field of station wagon looking models. Great features including a very well laid out and intuitive control system. For example, turning on the rear wipers initiates a status change on the dash info area letting you know the wiper change. Parking assist beeping uses the stereo system so you know where the obstruction is without even looking. Every feature (almost) is customizable, if you don't want the auto liftgate, for example. A very fun car to drive, which is a hard to put on paper feature. Also an easy to follow feature and model set, compared to say the RAV4 which has (if you can believe) 10 different models that cannot even all fit on a screen to tell which is which. The visibility is astounding and the sunroof is almost like a convertible. And on the Turbo model the power is unreal, almost feels too fast for an SUV, but again fun to drive. CONS: The biggest con is the MPG, which is truly cr@p. However, even the much heralded Subaru Forester is just 5MPG higher than the Kia which translates to about $200/year. Not nothing but not worth paying thousands more for the Subaru. The reality is that car companies should not be crowing about 5MPG here and there, most SUVs get cr@p MPG. In 2018 MPG should all be in the 30s or 40s and not crowing about tiny differences in MPG. No adaptive cruise control, although available on other Kias. OTHER: I am a bit confused about the features that are available worldwide that are not standard throughout. Such as heated front windshield, heated rear seats, wireless charger, auto parking assist (SPAS system), headlight washers, etc depend not on what you spend but where you live....seems odd. Storage is an odd thing to complain about in this SUV because it is one of the smallest SUVs in it's class. It of course won't store more than a car that is a foot longer, but it's also going to be easier to maneuver. Kia also included a unique "Auto Hold" feature that keeps the brake applied when at stop lights to avoid foot fatigue or accidental rear endings...but oddly you have to turn it on manually every time you start the car. So there are quirks but they are minor in a sea of great. NOTE: I have only owned the SUV for a few weeks so I can't comment on the reliability but I will if something noteworthy occurs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 35