2017 Soul EV

Consumer Reviews

2017 Kia Soul EV

$9,636 - $15,876  MSRP Range
2017 Kia Soul EV

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Kia Soul EV?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive EV

by JackP from Renton, WA on Fri Oct 20 2017

I didn't go in looking to buy a Kia, only to get to better know the brand offerings. I had been driving a Toyota Corolla Hybrid and was happy with it. However, once I saw what Kia was offering I realized I'd be switching brands when the time was right. Just as I was leaving, having looked at a Soul all decked out and appreciated the creature comforts it offered, I was told it came as an EV. Surprised by this, I asked if they had one I could test drive. A friend has a Tesla I had driven from time to time so it was a high bar to meet. Obviously, it doesn't pass that bar and it's not going to win in any red light challenges, but it was peppy, it's handling is spry due to a small wheelbase, and I realized that this was the right commuter choice for me. One year on, I still feel this way. I can tuck it in just about anywhere so, whether I'm dealing with urban sprawl or tight parking options downtown, I am rarely challenged. It's range is sufficient for just about any trip. For my daily commute, I just top off my batteries with an overnight charge. Additionally, finding a charger anywhere in King County, Washington, is very easy and often results in preferred parking. About the only downsides I've noticed with the car are two things. First, range drops about 20 miles during the cold months of winter. Second, small, low-roll-resistance tires on a small wheel base means occasional slippage. Fortunately, the EV comes with traction control. You can turn it off but I have no idea why you would. Slippage is brief and has never caused me a safety concern.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great car for a Senior Citizen

by Senior Fan from Oro Valley, AZ on Wed Mar 29 2017

Drove a rental Kia Soul for a week and knew I wanted one. This is a great car for a senior. Sits a little higher, easy to get in and out, love the backup camera, love the spaciousness for passengers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's Electric, but it's a real car...

by Jordanan from Portland, OR on Thu Apr 26 2018

Car has plenty of features, and I have had my golf clubs and 5 full-grown adults in it going out for dinner...didn't lose a one. In addition it has a magnificent panoramic roof with a moon roof, which is outstanding. Heated steering wheel, heated / cooled seats, and a host of features I still haven't figured out yet. Switch to electric has been easy - if you've got a cell phone or a FitBit you're used to having to plug them in to recharge the battery. I now just do the same thing with my car. Total trips to the gas station in the past month? Zero. So cool

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My Second Soul EV+

by ElectricCarGuy from Escondido, CA on Mon Feb 19 2018

Just turned in my first Soul EV (lease was up), and replaced it with a new leftover 2017 of the same model. Kia engineers did an incredible job converting the existing Soul into a full EV. The 2017 is the third model year for their EV, and it seems a little tighter and better insulated from road and wind noise. Could stand more power and stronger regen for braking, but such improvements will probably not show up until the Niro EV does.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Strong entry for an EV commuter

by ChronosWS from Issaquah, WA on Sun Oct 08 2017

This is my first EV, and I bought it explicitly as a commuter - it's cheaper to own than my gas-powered car for the purposes of commuting. Good enough range to do work and errands, but you will probably want to charge it every day or every other day. Nice interior, Android Auto is really nice, and lots of nice little details like auto-folding mirrors, pool lights and the ability to remotely check on the status of the car. Surprising for a Kia really.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2018 kia soul plus

by EmilyW from Medford, OR on Tue Dec 05 2017

I love my new car. its a 2018 kia and the price was right and I really love all that it has to offer

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so great

by First time electric guy from Orange County, CA on Sun Oct 01 2017

Our family owns 2 Kia souls, but we had never had an electric car before. Sole objective was to get me in the car pool land in California for my new work commute. Kia Soul pricing for a lease was excellent. Car is fun to drive, love the sun roof. Only had it 6 weeks so far but everything working as designed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Kia Soul

by SAO from Ottawa on Wed Aug 09 2017

Really love driving my Kia Soul. The Pick-up is great, the car is safe, and the interior is really fancy and feels like a luxury car. It is also spacious yet small enough to get into those perfect parking spots.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tested at fisher

by Donebydad from Lafayette,CO on Thu Jul 27 2017

Wow its amazing it has so many new features and would be a great new car for me. What amazing detail and value they have added to this new Soul

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy with this decision,i can save a lot in gas

by flora1974 from long beach ca on Wed May 24 2017

i love it very very much,service from the sales person to administration was excellent ,i feel very comfortable driving my car i love everything inside out

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2