NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Insight

Consumer Reviews

2019 Honda Insight

$22,930 - $28,190  MSRP Range
2019 Honda Insight

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

34 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Honda Insight?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best looking Hybrid with great performance & value

by Smitty #13 from South Euclid, Ohio on Sat Jul 28 2018

Great Car and fun to drive. I was told the car would get 55mpg city, 49 highway and 52 combined. I am currently getting a little more than 60mpg of which most is in the city. I bought the EX model which I love the Apple Car Play. I am 5 feet 10 inches tall so I could see if someone is taller than about 6'3" than they will most likely feel cramped in the driver's seat. I did a lot of research before I made my decision to buy this car. The truck is big and the back seat folds down for additional room. This is the 3rd Honda that I got new and the others have lasted for many years and my son drives my 2009 Civic which is still going strong. I made the perfect decision for myself. If you are taller try the Accord Hybrid but if you are 6 feet tall or shorter I highly recommend you test drive this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable to Drive, Thoughtful Design

by Insightowner from California on Thu Jan 24 2019

Nice looking car, the interior feels high quality and very well thought out (Touring trim). The infotainment system is smooth. The seats are very comfortable (and my passengers say so too), although I had to turn the headrest around to really be comfortable in the driver’s seat. The trunk has more space than expected, and a removable tray that you can clean. Road noise is not bad at all. I’ve read people complain about the engine noise at highway speeds, but it honestly doesn’t bother me (although it is definitely a thing—even speeding up to 30 from a stop might generate some noise). Sport mode makes the car even more peppy. I really do have fun driving it. MPG is very variable. I have a short commute, and I feel like if my drives were just a little bit longer I would get better MPG. Sometimes as low as 20 or as much as 47 for the same commute, with heater blasting in the morning. But on other drives, I’ve gotten higher than 60. I recently started using the little regenerative braking paddles, and it’s quickly become second nature to use. I’ve only filled the car up three times since buying it (that was four months ago). I could have gone longer (quarter tank each time), but maybe I was getting impatient, haha. As far as reliability goes, no problems so far. My only complaint is that the front end is low, so be extra considerate around curbs and speed bumps.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Gas Mileage

by RDH from Myrtle Beach, SC on Sun Dec 09 2018

We were forced into a quick decision (previous vehicle was totaled). Decided our priority was MPG. The Insight is a Hybrid, advertised around 50 MPG. Looked at others but decided on this, very happy with it, only negative is the Seat comfort - leaves much to be desired. If we did it over, I would go for the "Touring Model", better seats, better sound, and includes Navigation, which I was a little surprised the EX model did not include, but you can hook up your phone (if it is compatible) and use waze or Google maps for navigation. We are getting 50-55 MPG, which is saving our fuel bill about 50% over what we were paying.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am loving my Honda Insight

by Insight Lover from Sacramento CA on Fri Dec 21 2018

I have driven this car for 1500 miles. It is a smooth ride with good visibility and great mileage. The trunk is deceptively large and can hold much more than I expected. I do wish that it didn't sit so low to the ground but that is small in the grand scheme of this great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Buttery Smooth Ride

by lopatlewis from Phillipsburg, NJ on Tue Feb 12 2019

Over 10,000 miles in and I'm still in love! 59+mpg and super quiet opertaion. I drive gently, and I don't have the engine whine observed by others as I anticipate and adjust speed accordingly. Not a single problem so far. I changed the oil myself at 10,284 miles. The tech in the new Insight is amazing. Bonus - I added a Rick and Morty wallpaper to the clock! My Insight was an upgrade from a 1999 Civic, and I couldn't be happier.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Do not regret the purchase.

by Djmai from Oak Harbor on Wed Nov 07 2018

This car is superb. It has everything I wanted and more for a good price. It's only 3k more than a comparable civic, even though it's a hybrid. That alone makes it worth it. The ride is quiet and very comfortable. I hardly hear any road noise. There are only a few things I like less about the car: first, the rear signal lights are in an odd location. Why not just make the rear tail light also the signal light? It would look much better. Also I am getting flashed at because my lights are too bright - not that I mind after showing them what my highbeams look like. I can see what people say about engine drone noise. It may be annoying to some. I'd recommend test driving before buying. The interior is well put together. The materials have a quality feel and the screens make the car seem high-end. There really isn't too much to nitpick about this car. If you want value and quality, I would look no further than the Honda Insight.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Proud Honda Insight owner

by Honda proud from Sacramento, CA on Thu Dec 13 2018

This car has exceeded my needs. My goal was to buy a hybrid and after test driving a Toyota Prius and a Kia Niro there was no doubt the Honda Insight was the right choice. Car play is great for navigating or receiving text messages because Siri takes over and all messages are received and replied audibly. The interior is very comfortable and visibility is exceptional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hybrid that doesn't look like one

by NewInsightfan from Chicago, Il on Sat Nov 03 2018

Great commuter car. Getting sticker mpg so far so excellent fuel economy. Info screen is great. Only drawback is lack of blind spot warning and rear traffic alert which I may add aftermarket. Otherwise, loaded with safety features and rated 5 stars from government and top safety pick plus by IIHS. I tend to by new and hold on for a long time and this looks like it will be great for the long haul!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great styling and awesome gas mileage. Love it!

by Gabriel300 from Santa Rosa, CA on Wed Nov 21 2018

This car is great. Smooth comfortable ride and more than enough acceleration. The car is fun to drive, handles well, looks great, and gets 50 mpg. There are no downsides to this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Easy to drive Hybrid- cool features

by MariaLA from Los Angeles, California on Mon Dec 17 2018

Decided to get a hybrid and glad I did. Got the Honda Insight and even though it has a lot of great features like USB ports and Apple Play, it's super easy to drive and looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4