NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2020 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2020 GMC Terrain

$25,000 - $39,900  MSRP Range
2020 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

27 Reviews
85% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Charli from Granbury, Tx on Mon Nov 11 2019

After test driving several makes and models of compact SUVs, I was extremely impressed with the many features and driving satisfaction of the GMC Terrain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like my Terrain

by Kaye from My pleasant michigan on Sat Dec 28 2019

This is third Terrain I have gotten. Really appreciate all the new safety features on the 2020. It’s like driving a space ship with all the new designs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2020 GMC Terrain SLT

by ddrumm from Springfield, MO on Mon Jan 20 2020

So I gave it a 5 for reliability, perhaps premature since we’ve only put 900 miles on the vehicle. When we bought the Terrain, we considered 5-6 different SUV’s in this class and it finally came down to a choice between the Terrain and the Mazda CX-5. After the smoke had cleared, we chose the Terrain for the overall value. The safety features are great. From the seat that gently vibrates when something’s in your path, to a head’s up display, lane assist; variable speed cruise; etc., our SLT has it all. But what was really great was that we paid about 3k less than a RAV4 with less than half of these extras. I wanted the 2.0 AWD, but after some deliberation, my wife and I settled for the 1.5 FWD. Surprisingly the 1.5 has adequate power and adds a couple MPG as well. We were able to test the switchable traction control in a recent snow/ice event and it performed beautifully. My wife doesn’t like driving in snow/ice and typically tries to avoid it at all costs, but the Terrain’s abilities have given her more confidence. Overall we’re very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plenty of power for a 4 cylander.

by BDA from Mesa AZ on Wed Jan 08 2020

This car is a good compromise between having a pickup and a family vehicle, additionally has good gas milage. There is plenty of power when you get the 2.0 turbo I4 and the front passenger seat also folds so that you can even carry long items by folding the rear seat along with the from passenger. The 2.0 engine also comes with a trailer hitch allowing you to tow 3,500 lbs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good suv

by mistadon from New Rochelle on Mon Dec 23 2019

My wife loves the Terrain it's a joy to drive every day loves the onstar feature that gmc presents. Good traveling vehicle to go see the sights especially with the moon roof.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i have ever owned, performs very well

by Mike B from Cumberland RI on Sat Jan 25 2020

Plenty of space for storage and people, the 2.0 liter turbo engine performs better that a 6 or 8 engine. Great handling on and off the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Ride

by PEPPER from Jasper, mo on Tue Dec 03 2019

this car drives like a dream! i love all the features! and i found the price quite reasonable. my son loves loves loves it. hes already planning to take it over when hes old enough

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable and easy to drive

by TRoy120 from Alford, MA on Sat Dec 07 2019

This is a very comfortable and easy to drive car. We have only had it a few days. There is plenty of room for us and for transporting friends.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First car for my kid.

by Bill in Hammond from Hammond, LA on Fri Jan 03 2020

Perfect size SUV for young driver. Has all of the new safety features. SLT trim looks great. Sporty ride and good visibility sitting up higher than a car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable automobile.

by Karlabell777 from Wesley Chapel on Fri Jan 17 2020

My car is very roomy and spacious with a smooth comfortable ride. Best of all it is my favorite color and easy on my knees being an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3