2017 Escape

Consumer Reviews

$11,493 - $20,993  MSRP Range
2017 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

666 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 666 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV For The $$

by rockinroller from Motown on Mon Oct 08 2018

Shopped the mid size SUV market (Escape, Cherokee, etc) after turning in a 2016 Cherokee Limited on a 24 mo lease. Actually thought about buying the newer (2019) redesigned front end Cherokee but I couldn't get the dealers below $30,000 delivered. I visited a local Ford dealership and ended up driving away in a leftover brand new 2017 Escape Titanium AWD, loaded, for $25K, that sticker'd for $36,000. Having had the two SUVs to compare, I'd say there's pluses (and minuses) in each: The Escape wins in terms of city/stop light performance as the 2.0 Ecoboost really has a lot of low end torque, although the Jeep's 3.2 V6 was no slouch. Visibility is also a bit better in the Escape. Personally, I loved the 9spd AT in the Jeep despite the critics, and appreciated the downshifting process using the lever, which the Ford does not provide. Gas mileage was better in the Jeep, ironically (about 22mpg city compared to around 20 in the Ford). The Ford's power rear tailgate is also very handy, as is the foot sensor to open (when your arms are full). I liked the fact the Escape offers 19" wheels/tires (the Jeep's largest are 18's). Finally, the Escape just seems to be built "better" than the Cherokee--fit and finish, heavier doors, etc. Frankly, if the Cherokee's comparable trim (Limited) came close in price to the Titanium I would have had a tougher decision to make.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Escape

by Lynne from Mi on Mon Mar 06 2017

We love this car for traveling and transporting items from store. We love the heated seats this winter

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable suv

by Brenda from Easley on Mon May 20 2019

Plenty of leg room, lots of bells and whistles. Plenty of pep for a 4 cylinder. Storage spaces good, spare tire good size, good sound system. I commute 80 miles round trip daily and the savings in gas will come close covering my car payment.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Met all expectations so far.

by rjl32 from North Babylon on Mon Nov 26 2018

Replaced previous sedan with Escape for easier entering and exiting of vehicle. Also wanted larger carrying capacity with easier access than a trunk. Front wheel drive provides excellent traction in rain and snow without need for four wheel drive in the normal driving I do - no off road or mountainous driving. The 245 horsepower 4 cylinder engine gives good gas mileage while providing more than adequate power for passing on highways with 70+ mph speed limits. Averaged 23mpg while commuting (85 miles per day) - down to 17mpg with current driving mix now that I am retired. Current mileage is 35,000 @ 24 months.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy Drivers

by NeverADullMoment from Maryville, TN on Sun Aug 26 2018

This car is so roomy! My husband is a tall man with bad knees and it's so easy for him to get in and out of and very comfortable. We looked at many vehicles before choosing this one and truly believe we got the best deal in town!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Greate handling and comfort for driver.

by Lu from ElCajon CA on Sat Apr 08 2017

Handles very well and has responsive acceleration from the turbo feature. Moderate to above average comfort for the driver seat however the rear seat passenger seating is not very comfortable for extended trips that exceed an hour

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So far so good

by Misty D from Newark Ohio on Sun Aug 18 2019

Haven’t had the vehicle long but so far my family and I are very satisfied with our purchase. It runs great, the stereo system is absolutely wonderful. It has great gas mileage and good amount of trunk space.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this vehicle

by Suzy's Toy from Sebastian Florida on Wed May 24 2017

I have only had this vehicle for four weeks, but in that time it has exceeded my expectations. It is very attractive on both the outside and inside and very comfortable. My vehicle is equipped with Sync. It makes using my cell phone to both listen to Pandora and make and receive phone calls very easy. I do not have to take my eyes off of the road to use the device. All I have to do is tell it to call someone on my Contact list and the Sync device does the rest. I recently traveled on a long distant trip of 810 miles each way and the vehicle handled great. During the trip, I faced some heavy downpours and high winds. I was easily able to negotiate through the adverse weather.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Another Ford winner!

by GK930 from Cincinnati, OH on Mon Dec 03 2018

The Escape SE is a fantastic vehicle! The 2.0L Turbo engine is zippy and smooth and the styling is excellent for this SUV! 4WD rounds out the perfect car for an all-season climate. And Ruby Red looks fantastic!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love my little escape

by lv2drive from barrie,ON on Tue Mar 28 2017

simple - easy to find everything - lots of room - great for the dogs and going camping - i can throw the canoe ontop with my thule canoe rack and zoom off without any issue

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 67

Our Take on the 2017 Ford Escape

The verdict: The updated 2017 Ford Escape’s improvements are minor — if you didn’t have the Escape on your consideration list, these won’t put it there — but this compact crossover SUV is easier to live with daily.

Versus the competition: A sophisticated, punchy driving experience and impressive multimedia suite continue to define the Escape for 2017, as does its lackluster fuel economy and less-than-perfect crashworthiness ratings.

The 2017 Ford Escape features a number of small improvements that improve everyday usability despite the update not being a complete redesign. Cabin improvements in storage and quietness boost livability, while Ford’s optional Sync 3 multimedia system is more feature-packed... Read More