2018 C-Max Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2018 Ford C-Max Hybrid

$24,120 - $27,275  MSRP Range
2018 Ford C-Max Hybrid

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Ford C-Max Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Ford C-Max

by Gerard from Lake placid Florida on Sat Mar 03 2018

The 2018 Ford C-Max is a great value for a hybrid. With 188 hp vs the Prius 121 hp, it has no problem entering a highway. The transmission is flawless and with 54 cubic feet of cargo space, there is room for the dogs. The interior is large and the seating comfortable with lots of legroom and headroom. Visibility is excellent. If you want a European flavored hybrid way, go for it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy CMax Driver

by Hybrid Lover from Ithaca, MI on Tue Feb 06 2018

I commute 100 miles per day so fuel efficiency is important to me, but so is the environment, so I wanted another hybrid. My Prius served me well for 11 years, until a deer ended it, but this time I was looking for something that might get me through Michigan winters and had a bit more horsepower. The CMax fits the bill! It?s got a bit more clearance as well. The safety rating is higher and I actually paid less 11 years later for a larger vehicle. I?m getting about 41 mpg and have gone through a few big snowstorms with no problems already. It?s quiet and I?m enjoying it very much.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy Camper

by Long Haul Commuter from Ithaca, MI on Sun Feb 04 2018

I bought the CMax after an 11 year love affair with my Prius that ended when I hit a deer. I drive two hours a day for my job and fuel efficiency and air quality are both really important to me. The CMax has been averaging 41 mpg for me and the safety rating is a huge stress reliever for me. I?m still learning where some of the things are in this car, and I?ve never had a Ford before, so some things like the gas tank on the other side were new. Our family four is very comfortable inside and the seats have a 30/70 split so hauling around my son?s cello is not a problem. This is a really great car and I?m really happy with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Vehicle, Exceptional Service

by Long Time Ford Customer from Culpeper, VA on Tue Jan 30 2018

The C-Max Hybrid is the best vehicle I have purchased in years. Roomy, comfortable, excellent gas mileage, most of the time is runs in electric mode, if driven correctly. Highly recommended.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A car loaded with all options

by Matt C from Plymouth, MA on Wed Feb 21 2018

The C-Max Hybrid is fully loaded on the interior with leather, power and heated seats, lane assist warning lights, very roomy for such a compact car, dual zone heating, usb/12v and 125v plugs easily accessible for use. Exterior is small but cute, brights lights, windows all the way around eliminating blind spots, quiet, smooth acceleration and braking,and suv like back door for cargo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Hybird C-Max

by NEW FORD GUY from St Croix Falls, WI on Thu Apr 26 2018

I am tall and this vehicle is easy to get in and out! Mileage is fantastic! Seats are comfortable! It is VERY nimble! My wife even loves it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, not sure why Ford would stop making it!

by MainStreeter on Thu May 10 2018

The Ford C-Max is comfortable, attractive, easy to drive, has good power for its size, and gets great mileage. The features are really terrific, and this car is just a great car. Why, oh why Ford thinks they should stop making them is just a questionable business decision, but we bought our second one this week, and love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The car drives and works great.

by Dcool003 from Cypress, TX on Fri Jan 19 2018

I bought it for the gas mileage and have really enjoyed the comfort and sync as well. It's a great car so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Huge feeling inside, even our 6?4? son says so

by Elise from Brookfield, WI on Sun Aug 26 2018

Comfortable to drive; lots of room in front and back; many features we like; beautiful mileage. We drive mostly in the city and looked for the best mileage and being American made.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greatest Car I've Ever Had

by Stevie.P from Cincinnati, Ohio on Sat Aug 11 2018

At the age of 27, I have had over 30 cars, trucks, and motorcycles. Without question, the Ford C-Max Hybrid is the greatest car I have ever owner. Hands down. Just think about it... ever seen a commercial for the Ford C-Max? Nope! Didn't think so! Why is that? Because Ford doesn't need to make any to drum up activity. The car has more tech jammed into it than anything else in it's class. To name a few; bluetooth phone and audio streaming, navigation, automatic headlights, automatic wipers, rear camera, parking sensor, magical power lift gate, heated / power seats, interior accent lights that are customizable andeven changes color to let you know when a door is open, a moonroof the size of a smart car with an automatic retracting shade, keyless entry (yes, keyless, like "keep it in your pocket or purse" keyless, for unlock, lock, and starting) active noise cancelation, I'm going to say that again - active noise cancelation! You can drive on the highway at 70mph and have a proper conversation with the other person in the front seat while WHISPERING! Come on, that's amazing. And talking about driving down the highway, how about the power this car has. 188 horsepower. Is that a lot? Well, considering the Mini Cooper S which has a TURBOCHARGER is only 20 horsepower more, yes. Yes that is a lot. And with a crisp, snappy CVT transmission, getting up to speed is a joy and passing cars is such a simple task. So with all that power, you have to use premium fuel (as with the Mini) or pay for it in MPG, right? Well, turns out that isn't the case with the brilliant Ford C-Max. You still get 40 MPG city or highway if you're driving like me. If you're my wife, you get more like 45. One more note about driving it is the comfort and visibility, both of which are fantastic. It has the high-seated driving position of the Ford Escape, and 11 different pieces of glass to look out at your surroundings. As if that wasn't enough, there are built-in blind spot mirrors, so you really know everything that's around you. I'm about 6'2", 170lb and comfortably drive this car every day. In fact, we took it on a 16-hour road trip from Cincinnati to Orlando with no issues at all. Even without the driver's seat being all the way back I still have plenty of comfortable leg room, and with the seat being raised just about as high as it will go, I feel like I still have a foot of head room. Back seat space is also very spacious and comfortable for someone my size, and even more so when compared to anything else in this class. Bottom line is, I would love to keep my C-Max of 2.5 years and drive it for the rest of my life, but there are other things that I must re-allocate funds to. Apparently hospitals aren't in the free surgery game too much these days. Such a shame that Ford will be discontinuing this car at the end of next year. I'm sure I'll get another used C-Max some day. Until then, why don't you get one and see what all the hype is about?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2