2013 C-Max Hybrid

Consumer Reviews

2013 Ford C-Max Hybrid

$4,866 - $15,034  MSRP Range
2013 Ford C-Max Hybrid

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

129 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2013 Ford C-Max Hybrid?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Blend of Handling, Driving, & Fuel Economy

by Ferg from Statesboro, Georgia on Sun Feb 16 2014

Like a number of folks submitting a review I am a former (Porsche 914 & 911) and current (classic BMW 99 M3) owner of fun to drive sports vehicles. When my wife and I decided to purchase a vehicle that would allow us to cost effectively travel from our current home in southeast Georgia to Philly and northern NJ to visit our kids and grand kids, we took this into consideration. We test drove the Prius V and the Ford C-Max and the Ford C-Max won hands down in all areas, including the front and rear headroom & legroom which in the Ford C-Max is excellent and far superior to the Prius V. As for the drive and handling, the Prius was sluggish and a chore to handle, whereas the C-Max has surprisingly good acceleration, particularly at the upper end, and handles with ease. No question that the total storage space is not as good as the Prius V, but I'll take a great, comfortable, cost effective drive over storage capacity any day. We have had the C-Max for about a month and, in part because of the mpg usage digital dashboard that includes a nifty 'brake coach" regenerative breaking system energy saving display, we are getting between 43 and 46 average mpg. It also helps that my wife, who is the primary driver, does not have the "pedal to the metal" inclinations that I have. This is an important point because, with any of the hybrids, your mpg fuel efficiency is largely in your own hands -- actually foot to the accelerator. We did not like all of the touch screen gizmo's that came with the more expensive fully micro-soft sync entertainment system SEL model so ended up purchasing the SE which still has some great "state of the art" technology including the hands free phone. Other than this, the vehicle is fully loaded and we got a great deal because we purchased the last of the 2013's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall very satisfied

by Hybrid owner from Wellsville, New York on Wed Jan 16 2013

My only disappointment is the gas mileage. I have driven the car about 1100 miles and my gas mileage is in the low 30s. Great ride, nice large front window, plenty of body and headroom. The owners manual needs to be improved. It is not very user friendly. The car is so new and so technical, that many of the sales reps and mechanics could not answer all my questions. Ford should offer tutorials On’line for new car owners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very happy with my C-MAX

by Dan from Orlando, FL on Tue Oct 07 2014

I'm very happy with my C-Max Hybrid SE. I bought it in May 2013. My overall MPG is 43 after a year and a half. It would be better if the gas engine was better, but 43 MPG isn't much to complain about. I love the touchscreen, entertainment system, and console controls. The dashboard info screens are very useful and beautiful (I love the efficiency leaves). I'm a tall person so I loved getting into this car--I don't have to crouch or contort myself to get in or out and there's a ton of headroom. The back seats are roomy and when they fold down there's a nice big trunk area. Speaking of the trunk (hatchback), I love it because when it is open I can stand tall underneath it without ducking (I'm 6'1"). I usually try to max out my battery use and overall MPG by going slower, but if I need to go faster this car has good pick-up and will fly if you need it to. Now for the bad and why I gave it 4/5 overall. I mentioned before that the engine isn't great. There are non-hybrid cars that can get around 40 MPG but the C-Max would probably only be around 28-30 MPG if it wasn't a hybrid. The battery is what gets it over the 40 hump (I've kept track of my mileage and a consistent 33% of my miles are on electric power, hence the 30 estimate). I took a point off of exterior styling simply because it's certainly not a cool car to look at, but I don't particularly care about driving a cool car--I just wanted a mid-sized hybrid. Another knock on the C-Max is the constant recalls: I've had four in the last 18 months I think, which is a bit frustrating. I bought it when they were still advertising the 47/47/47 MPG which was obviously changed since then (Thanks for the rebates, Ford! :-) ). I get better MPG than the current ratings, but that's because I try really hard to max out my battery use while driving (so I'm that annoying slow person in the right lane all the time now... Sorry Orlando people). So even with a few design problems and the bad EPA ratings I'm very happy I got this car. I buy gas at most twice a month and as little as once a month, which is awesome. I enjoy being in the car because it is a very nice ride and the features are cool. Would still buy again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

20,000 miles in 10 months.

by Far.NY from NY on Sun Dec 15 2013

Bought only for fuel economy as drive more than 15,00 miles /month.Had volvo s60,Infinity G37xs,Hyundai Genesis,MDX in past& also have Infinity J34 & Nissan Juke. So it is not comparison & not my 1st. or 2nd car. Very good accelration almost 190 + HP combined. No problems in 10 months. Milage 40.5 to 40.7 .I drive City mostly & no mercy on throttle.Uses regular gas. Braking is impressive. Much roomier than juke.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2013 C-Max bad experience

by rooster from San Antonio Tx on Tue Jun 17 2014

I have had my C-max for 17 months and have had to say goodbye.While the 40mpg was great and the ride was very good the car was falling apart.After 3 wks the cooling fan shorted out.Then 2 wks later the starting battery went dead.Then came round after round of updates and recalls.After 6 months of that they had to put insulation in the roof under recall.My brakes failed one day but the dealer never found a problem.The clock seemed to reset itself to whatever time it wanted.The Bluetooth woked sometimes.The last straw was the airbag module recall from a few weeks ago.I took it in to be reprogrammed and the next day the air bag light came on and stayed on.Back in the shop again and it needed a whole new module and would not be fixed for 2 weeks.I traded the car 5 days later.I expected a new car to be dependable.Not have constant problems.The Ford dealer I bought it from would only give me 4000 under rough trade book.They did offer me an extended warranty for 3000.00. I said no thanks and went to Dodge.Maybe it was just a Friday built car but I will not own another.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Veery comfortable car

by Tom from Marion, IN on Mon Apr 15 2013

The C-max is very roomy inside. The ride is exceptional. Since I only have a thousand miles on the car, I cannot speak to its reliability. I love the touch screen display and ease of controlling the radio, navigation, and temperature. The one down side to the car is the gas mileage. I knew it would not be the 47 that they advertised, but I was hoping for 37 that Consumer Report claimed. I am at 33.3 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Ford Fixing MPG Issue Killed Performance

by Was Happy from Nashville, TN on Sat Aug 24 2013

We enjoyed the peppiness, quiet ride and 42 MPG we were getting from out 2013 C Max until we took it in for a recall that was supposed to "improve gas mileage". Before, the recall it responded the instant you touched the gas peddle and city or highway, you would never know the engine was on. Now getting on the highway is a life and death decision. You can literally count to 4 between the time you push the gas and the time the engine responds. Hold your foot all the way to the floor long enough and you can get all the way up to 75 miles per hour, but that's top speed. Irony is that the "software upgrade" Two Rivers Ford did as part of the "recall" was supposed to change the top speed for the electric engine from 62 to 85 MPH. Not only does Two Rivers Ford service say there's nothing they can do about what they've done to our cars performance, but the 32 (three zero) MPG we're getting now is normal. So before August 2013, I would have said the C-Max is a great car. Now... I've been in a rickshaw with more pickup.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun car

by Dale from Columbus Ohio on Thu Jan 17 2013

Love to drive this car Gas millage is not what they claim Seat belt is hard to fasten in front seats

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still have my 2013 C-Max

by C-Max Lover from New Jersey on Tue Mar 28 2017

My car has out performed my expectations. Have had NO problems (not one) with 56k miles. Will be getting new tires (my first time) this spring (2017). Treads worn evenly thanks to the tire pressure monitor. The gas miles monitor show some trips with 64mpg! I forget to put gas in. I drove to Vegas from NJ and back. The cost of gas? $300!!! that was before they installed the new chip. Can't beat that. Will be keeping the car for awhile. I'd trade in for a new one but the trade in value is around $10,000. Highly recommend others to buy with confidence.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

C Max Amazing

by Jerry from Rochester, NY on Fri Aug 09 2013

I really like this car! My previous vehicle was a Wrangler that I put 183K miles on--this is a 100% different driving experience. After 1500 miles, my gas mileage at 46.3 MPG, is >125% better than my beloved Wrangler. If you are willing to accelerate slowly and brake slowly and to add 1/5 to your time to get somewhere in town, this is a very achievable mileage; if you are impatient and lead-footed, then it's a great car but your MPG will be lower. Firmware to achieve EV mode up to 85mph max (instead of originally supplied 62mph) will be installed for free by Ford in my car later this month. Outstanding build quality; my 89 yr. old father cannot get over what a terrific value this was (or the look of things under the hood); initial experience: very positive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2013 Ford C-Max Hybrid

Editor’s note: Estimated mileage ratings have been lowered to reflect a June 2014 Ford audit of this car’s stated mileage.

Few automakers have taken a direct shot at Toyota’s green icon, the Prius hybrid. Now Ford has: It’s the 2013 C-Max Hybrid, but its overall refinement has been marred by poor reliability and two downward revisions in EPA gas mileage.

Earlier plans to bring a seven-seat C-Max minivan from overseas were scrapped, and now the C-Max comes as a hybrid and a C-Max Energi plug-in hybrid, each with five seats. Ford has targeted the plus-sized Prius v as the C-Max’s primary competitor, but it’s priced closer to the Prius, so you might shop it... Read More